Free haikus for … uh … one?

The time has come to announce the winner of One Hundred Great Books in Haiku: Sue from Books, Books, the Magical Fruit. Congrats, Sue!

I’m sorry for the rest of you disappointed folks; don’t blame me – blame your luck. Clearly, you need to save some soggy homeless kittens, soon, to give karma a nudge. But because I adore each and every one of you, I’ll throw in a haiku as a bit of a consolation prize:

Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett


Act I. ‘It’s hopeless.

My boots don’t fit. Where is God?’

Act II. The same thing.

(Note: My only experience with this play comes from an annoying classmate who insisted on pontificating about it for the entire semester. One Hundred Great Books in Haiku sure would have come in handy back then…)

So a sincere thank you is in order for all your entries and book recommendations. And for those of you that suffer from habitual curiosity, or have a particular love of stats, I made a pie chart of the most popular suggestions:

Books recommended by three or more people

Apparently I’m supposed to read Wuthering Heights next, but this depends on how masochistic I’m feeling in the near future.

Also, a special shout out to Todd Pack for writing me a haiku in the comments here!

Considering this post is all about winning things, I should mention that the lovely Callista and the equally lovely Zee each awarded me with a Versatile Blogger Award a few days ago. For those of you keeping track at home, you’d know that this brings my grand total up to three awards. (It’s so exciting, that I had to brag a little bit!)

If you do want to read seven things about me, or, more likely, check out the fifteen bloggers that I passed the award onto – as per the instructions – go here.

Edit: Hey, whaddya know? Apparently I’m a nice person after all; I was drawn as second prize winner for Martha’s Bookshelf’s Got Books? Event giveaway.

A sensational weekend, my sweet chinchillas, and I hope you had the same.

13 responses to “Free haikus for … uh … one?

  1. I am so happy I found your blog from the Got Books? Event. I love classic lit and don’t read nearly enough. I will be living vicariously through you until I can get my TBR pile down enough to read my own books. :)

    • Glad to be of service! I love classics as well, but sometimes I need a break – good thing my 100 Books include modern lit and more lighthearted stuff.

      Actually, I noticed you’re doing the 1001 Books challenge, in which case you’re that much braver than me. Then again, I do like crossing things of lists…

  2. Congrats to you Sue! I can now sit back, and relax while my dearest Ilona reads another classic. The suspense will be a slow and delicious torture.

    Thanks again for your awesomeness!

  3. Love the Godot haiku!! : )

    And of all the recommendations you got, I would have voted for Anne of Green Gables. A really delightful book … and perfect for the season.

    • I have a vague recollection of beginning to read this when I was young. Not too sure what it’s about, but since I feel like reading something light after the book I’m working through now, then maybe that one will be next?

  4. Ahah xD I don’t think masochism is needed to read Wuthering Heights, the narrators Nelly and Lockwood always made me laugh,and my favorite couple isn’t the main one (which I admit: is a bit depressing), but the one composed by Catherine (number 2) and Hareton, an they are funny -at least for me!

    • I will get around to it… one day. I just had a terrible experience with Jane Eyre, so I don’t know if the writing of horrible books runs in the family or not. Still, I’ll find out.

  5. Well I’m very happy for the winner. It’s just that I’d be happier if it was me. Now I have to buy the book because I adore haiku and I love the concept of using it to summarize books. There has got to be some wonderful satire/sarcasm in there and I HAVE TO HAVE IT! Sorry. Didn’t mean to shout. Yes I did. Seriously, thanks for introducing us to the book.

    • Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t win… But I AM glad that you appreciated the book so much that you shouted.
      Let me know if you do pick it up – we can share our fave haikus (mine is the one for Ivanhoe, but I have a guy’s sense of humour).
      Thanks heaps for participating in the comp, though!

  6. I love your waiting for Godot haiku! It summed up my feelings about it exactly.

Leave a Reply

